Arizona allows attorneys who have proven experience in a particular area of law to achieve the status of specialist.
A licensed attorney in Arizona must meet the following minimum standards for specialization in injury and wrongful death litigation:
- Admission to the practice of law for at least 5 years
- Admission to the State Bar of Arizona for 2 years immediately preceding submission of the application
- Devotion of at least 50% of a full-time practice to the specialty area
- Substantial involvement in the certification area for 4 of the 6 years immediately preceding submission of the application, at least 1000 hours per year, with significant trial experience.
- Additionally, peer review is conducted and a written examination must be passed.
- The 10 member Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Advisory Commission must recommend certification.
- A demonstration of honesty, integrity, professionalism as defined by the Lawyer’s Creed of Professionalism of the State Bar of Arizona, and a high degree of competence in the practice of personal injury and wrongful death.
- Completion of 12 hours of continuing legal education per year in advanced level programs concentrated in personal injury issues, plus 3 hours in ethics.
A complete list of requirements may be found at:
http://www.azbar.org/media/ 1697313/personalinjuryandwrongfuldeathstandards-O 1-10-18.pdf
As of the end of 2017 there were only 140 certified specialists in injury law actively practicing in Arizona.